Thursday, February 4, 2016

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Mark LaRowe Photography

The Northern Rodeo Association is proud to welcome their newest partner, Mark LaRowe Photography.  Mark has held a NRA/NWRA Photographer membership since 2014.  He is a Bozeman-based photographer whose passion is western landscapes and western lifestyle, including portraiture, rodeo, skijoring, ranch sorting, and other equine/western events.  Mark’s work can be seen hanging in several commercial locations around southwestern Montana including the Big Sky Western Bank lobby in Big Sky, Millennium Real Estate & Management, LLC & Montana Western Realty in Helena, Sager Dental Group in Four Corners, Hall & Hall Ranch Real Estate in Bozeman, Café M in Bozeman, Chevallier Land and Cattle Company in Canyon Creek.  You can view Mark’s body of work at and keep up with his active photographic life on his Facebook page,

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Meet Your 2015 All-Around Champion

Pick a side. Rough stock or timed event. That was your all-around cowboy race. Young Tristan Hansen was trying to bring the all-around buckle back to the bucking chutes after a one-year absence. The Victor, Idaho cowboy, who competes for the University of Montana Western rodeo program, had been stellar in two of the most physically demanding events in rodeo – bareback and bull riding. Hansen was pursuing the Northern Rodeo Association’s coveted Triple Crown, being a champion in three events. The last to accomplish the feat was Gerald Eash of Trego in 2011. Hansen was second in both the bareback and bull riding standings coming into the finals. Tristan had proven he’s up to the task in handling both. He swept both events at Three Forks, Twin Bridges and Boulder this summer. Hansen also won the bareback riding at Deer Lodge and was second in bull riding and closed his summer with a bull riding win at Hamilton. After the first 2 rounds of finals the distance between Tristan and Ben Ayre was the same. It was all coming down to the final round and average. With Hansen winning the last round of the bareback riding and placing in the average he held the lead over Glendive cowboy, Ben Ayre, by just under $800. Congratulations Tristan on your year end All-Around Title.

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Meet Your 2015 Bull Riding Champion

Jess Lockwood is a young bull rider in a hurry.  Lockwood, of Volborg, planned to begin his pro career when he turned 18 in September.  To focus on bull riding, he will take on-line classes to finish high school this year.  But before embarking on his new life, the former state wrestling champion for Powder River High School in Broadus was in Butte for three days defending his NRA title.  Riding a selective schedule, Lockwood won at Wilsall, Scobey and Butte.  He also finished second at Big Timber and fourth at Harlowton.  Twice in the last three years, Lockwood has come within seconds of the bull riding title at the National High School Finals Rodeo.  Although the High School Finals didn’t pan out like Jess would have liked he had a perfect NRA Finals.  Jess was the only bull rider to ride in the 1st round aboard S.O.B. of Red Eye Rodeo Company with a score of 82. He drew Dr Feel Good of Jacobs Rodeo in the 2nd round and posted a score of 79.5 good enough for 1st place.  Saturday night there was some déjà vu going on in the Butte Civic Center, Lockwood drew Big Circle Rodeo Company’s Twisted Tea, the bull he won the final round on in 2014, and this year was no different.  Jess posted the highest score of the weekend with an 87.5 point ride, and was also the only one to ride in the final round.  The Volborg cowboy won all three rounds and the average totaling his 2015 Finals winnings that counted for the standings at $3150.00, what he walked out of the Civic Center with was $5250.00 with ground money included.  That is what a perfect Finals looks like. Congratulations Jess on your back-to-back Bull Riding Championship.

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

Bouma Truck Sales

Bouma Truck Sales is the largest used truck, trailer, and equipment dealer in the Northwest.  Check out Bouma Truck Sales' sales flyer. To browse through all their inventory, simply click here.

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Meet Your 2015 Breakaway Roping and All-Around Champion

Blink and you’ll miss.  It happens that fast. Blink again and the standings lead could change that fast. The competition was fast and furious in the breakaway roping.  Reigning all-around champion Tammy Jo Carpenter of Kalispell maximized every throw this past summer, averaging a healthy $623 a catch.  Carpenter only won once, at Havre, but it was worth $1,072.  She also had seven other top-five finishes.  Tammy Jo also returned to defend her all-around title and was being chased by Milee Dailey of Emigrant and Choteau’s Shelby Rasmussen.  Carpenter, a software engineer from Kalispell and a graduate of Montana State, put herself in contention for another championship by sweeping both the breakaway roping and barrel racing in Twin Bridges.  Tammy Jo had a finals that was about average, she roped her best with what she had drawn and was consistent.  She placed in all three rounds, aboard the 2015 Breakaway Horse of the Year “Ike”, with two 3rd place finishes and a 4th place, that was good enough to put her 2nd in the average and hold her top spot in the breakaway roping.  This was Carpenters first Ladies Breakaway Roping Year End Title and her 2nd consecutive All-Around Title.  Congratulations Tammy Jo on your back-to-back victory and your first Breakaway Roping Year End Title.

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Copper Spring Ranch

Don't miss Copper Spring Ranch's
Race'n and Rope'n The New Year 3-Day Event.